top of page


Dunstable Swimming Club was founded in 1975. The club was a “break away” from what was then the Luton & Vauxhall swimming club. The founder members were Ron Aggat, Elaine and Derek Filmer, Aubrey Fernandez, Peter Crick, David Moss and Dennis Page. Aubrey Fernandez became the first Chairman and Dennis Filmer the Chief Coach.

From relatively humble beginnings, the club grew into a very successful competitive club, with Paul Bavister representing England and Debbie and Helen Page competing for the English Synchronised Team.

In the past, a significant number of Dunstable swimmers have qualified and competed at the GB nationals.

The club is again developing into a competitive and ambitious one and has seen some great achievements through 2019 and into 2020 with a number of our performance squad swimmers having gone on to win many medals around the country. We have approximately 168 swimming members of varied abilities up to National Qualification standard. We compete in a number of different leagues throughout the year including the Arena League.

Dunstable Swimming Club is always looking to compete at the highest levels and with some 15 swimmers now selected to represent Bedfordshire, this is a great achievement. The club is becoming more competitive under the guidance of head coach Tim Hutton who comes with a wealth of experience in swimming coaching and development. Currently the club has seen a consistent year on year improvement at county, national and regional competitions. No doubt there will be more boys and girls shining through and showing great potential over the next exciting 12 months and beyond.

bottom of page